Live On Twitter

  • 349.95$ CodeGear RAD Studio 2007 Architect cheap oem
  • Buy Cheap Adobe Creative Suite 4 Design Premium Digital Classroom
  • Buy Cheap Autodesk AutoCAD Mechanical 2009
  • Buy OEM Paragon NTFS 8 MAC
  • Buy Autodesk Alias Design 2014 MAC (en)
  • 59.95$ Roxio Creator 2012 Pro cheap oem
  • Buy Panic Transmit 4 MAC (en)
  • 369.95$ Autodesk Inventor Professional 2015 (32-bit) cheap oem
  • Discount - Adobe Creative Suite 5.5 Design Standard MAC
  • Buy OEM Building Web Sites All-in-One For Dummies
  • Buy Pixologic ZBrush 4 MAC (en)
  • 9.95$ The Photoshop Darkroom: Creative Digital Post-Processing cheap oem
  • Sea Dogs are Memorial Cup champs Print
    Futures Watch
    Written by Scott Rosts   
    Monday, 30 May 2011 07:16

    saint john sea dogs

    The Saint John Sea Dogs celebrate a 3-1 win over the Mississauga St. Michaels Majors to claim the 93rd MasterCard Memorial Cup on Sunday. Photo by Terry Wilson / CHL Images.

    St. John becomes the first Maritimes-based team to win the Memorial Cup in its 93-year history. Jonathan Huberdeau is named MVP.

    The Memorial Cup is headed east to the Canadian Maritimes for the first time ever.

    Simon Despr├ęs, Zack Phillips and Jonathan Huberdeau scored goals while Jacob DeSerres made 34 saves, to lead the Saint John Sea Dogs to a 3-1 win over the host Mississauga St. Michael's Majors to claim the 2011 MasterCard Memorial Cup. The Sea Dogs became the first Maritimes-based team to lift the MasterCard Memorial Cup in the 93-year history of the trophy.

    It was sweet revenge for DeSerres. Just one year ago, while with the Brandon Wheat Kings, he was on the other side of the ice, in a 9-1 loss in the Memorial Cup final to the Windsor Spitfires. In 2011, the Philadelphia Flyers draft pick was a game changer, making critical saves throughout the game.

    "It's unbelievable," DeSerres told reporters after the game. "I don't think it has sunk in yet. I keep reminding myself I just won the Memorial Cup. It's incredible."

    DeSerres was commended for his effort even by members of the Majors, who were suffering the pain of defeat.

    "Their goalie played unbelievable and he's the reason I think they won," said Mississauga captain Casey Cizikas.

    "I don't think anything else compares to this (the Memorial Cup title)," DeSerres said after the game. "It's something we'll have for the rest of our lives and these are moments we'll never forget."

    It was an emotional night that the Majors will likely never forget. The team came up short in the Memorial Cup final and the Ontario Hockey League final this year. For some, such as Majors head coach Dave Cameron and captain Cizikas, it was even more harsh with a loss at the World Junior Hockey Championships earlier this year as part of Team Canada.

    "Losing sucks, I can say that. But when it is all said and done, you take the emotion out, you scrape everything away and you ask that your team does not leave anything on the ice. My team did not leave anything on the ice," said Cameron.

    Cameron told reporters he knows how heartbreaking this is for his players, but he is proud of their effort.

    "The message I'll give them at the end of the day is they gave themselves a chance to win an OHL championship and a chance to win the Memorial Cup," he said.

    Despres, a Pittsburgh Penguins prospect, opened the scoring early in the first period with a short-handed marker, giving the Sea Dogs a 1-0 lead.

    Zack Phillips put Saint John up 2-0 with 6:43 remaining in the first. Phillips slid a pass from Huberdeau under the pad of Majors netminder J.P. Anderson.

    Mississauga got on the board in the second, with Riley Brace bringing the Majors within one at 14:41.

    Mississauga had some strong chances in the third, but DeSerres shut them down. Huburdeau added the insurance marker, making it 3-1 late in the third period. For his efforts in the week-long event, Huberdeau received the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy, being named the tournament's Most Valuable Player. He finished the tournament with three goals and three assists in four games.

    Andrew Shaw of the Owen Sound Attack was the Ed Chynoweth Trophy as top scorer, while Marc Cantin of Mississauga won the George Parsons Trophy as most sportsmanlike player. Despite the strong play of Anderson and DeSerres, it was Owen Sound netminder Jordan Binnington who claimed the Hap Emms Memorial Trophy for outstanding goaltender.

    Named to the Memorial Cup all-star team were Binnington (goaltender), defenceman Stuart Percy of Mississauga and Nathan Beaulieu of Saint John, and forwards Shaw, Mississauga's Devante Smith-Pelly and Huberdeau.

    Comments (0)

    Subscribe to this comment's feed

    Show/hide comments

    Write comment

    smaller | bigger
    security image
    Write the displayed characters

    Last Updated on Tuesday, 31 May 2011 02:04